Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Happy THANKSgiving!!!

First, I would like to say that white glove went great. We got everything spic and span clean waaaaay before our time was up! And yes, we dressed up weird. You can't really see what I was we were wearing but here is a picture....

Second, I am HOME! I have been home since Saturday and it's just fantastic. There's nothing like being "home". I still never heard from the school, so I'm assuming that I didn't get the job. It will be slightly annoying if I get back to school and then hear back that I did get it, just because of timing and traveling and stuff.

Third, it's THANKSgiving! I like Thanksgiving for many reasons. Number 1 is spending time with family. Even though some of my extended family is crazy and a little annoying, it's still nice to catch up once in a while. Number 2 is the fooooooood. Yay food! And I think that's all I need to say about that! :)

'What am I thankful for?', you may be wondering...
my parents
my sister and her husband
my dog
my car
my salvation
Clearwater CC
abilities God has given me (piano, soccer, running, etc.)
warm clothes
a home
godly friends
laughter
my grandparents
learning experiences
God's grace over and over and over again!
my church
my church family
music
and there's probably so much more I am forgetting but it's too late for this!!!!

*Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! His love endures forever!*

...until next time...

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Rollercoaster Emotions

"For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." -Jeremiah 29:11

I thought that verse would be an appropriate thought to start out with. I need the constant reminder that God is in control and He knows the plans He has for me. His plan for me is perfect, because He is perfect. I don't know why I continually doubt that. It seems like every time that concept finally gets through my thick head, another situation comes up where I start doubting.
I still haven't heard about the job. I had my interview almost 2 weeks ago. I was told that I would hear yes or no within a week. I get very restless when I am given a time period that something will happen in and then it doesn't. If I don't get a call tomorrow, I will be calling the school on Friday morning to find out what the deal is. I have to know by Friday at the latest because I am going home Saturday and I need to know if I need to bring all sorts of stuff home, or leave it all here and bring even more back for an apartment and stuff. This is just the type of situation that tries my patience. I'm always told never to pray for patience because the Lord will give you situations in which you will learn it....I guess it's true.

In other news, tomorrow is White Glove....my LAST ONE! Praise the Lord!!! I actually like White Glove. It means that everything is sparkling clean and neat. And the process is fun too. We usually dress up and do crazy stuff while cleaning. We listen to Christmas music and Disney music and sing ridiculously loud. It's great! Haha here's a couple pictures of the usual happenings :) ......
White Glove Fall 2007
White Glove Spring 2008....haaaaaa
White Glove 2006...haha underwear heads


In other otherrrr news, I have 2 days left of teaching. I have 7 days left of college. Where oh where did these last 4 and 1/2 years run off to? I am kind of sad to leave all my kids that I have been teaching since August. Even though they make me so very tired, I love them so much. I am going to miss the other PE teachers I work with. Even though I am hating dorm life right now, I know I will probably miss it eventually. I am pretty much a rollercoaster of emotions recently. The thing I will miss the most are the people here. There are probably some people that I will never see again (until Heaven, that is). That just makes me so sad. But I am trying to rest in the hope and peace of the Lord to help me through. Don't get me wrong, I am so very excited to graduate and finally move on to another stage in my life!! I just get down sometimes thinking about it. I know it will all work out because, as I said before, the Lord has the plans for my life and I need to learn to trust Him fully.

Until next time...

Friday, November 7, 2008

Push 2...

...weeks, that is. (The "push # phrase is a volleyball thing, in case you were wondering haha) I only have 2 weeks left until Thanksgiving break. That in turn means 2 weeks left of student teaching. Where has the stinkin' time gone? Just yesterday, it seems like I was starting my first day of college classes as a freshman. After Thanksgiving, I have exactly 5 days left down here and I most likely won't be doing much teaching. I should be observing and finishing up everything. I can't believe it's almost over. I'm so glad though. It's time to move on. Time to get a "real life" and a "real job".

Speaking of a real job, I had an interview today. It's kind of weird how it worked out and if I end up getting the job, someday I will ask how these people got my name....BUT...on Tuesday, my internship teacher got an email from the principal of Clearwater High School. The email said that they are losing a PE teacher and were wondering if my teacher's intern (me...and they called me by name) would be interested in the position. Of course, I was going to be interested! I had contacted a few schools, but had basically made up my mind to be going home and working at Sam's Club all next semester. I was actually kind of excited about doing that, to be completely honest. But, this email came through and I jumped on the opportunity. I first contacted my parents to make sure this would be even doable. Once I got the go ahead from them, I contacted the assistant principal at the high school and set up an interview time for today at 1:45pm.
That was Wednesday. That meant I had a day and a half basically to get everything ready that I needed for an interview. I needed to write a resume, get my transcripts, get my letters of recommendation, etc. Needless to say the past couple days I have been scrambling around like crazy trying to get all this stuff together. Thankfully, come this morning, I had everything nice and ready, including my spiffy outfit, which, if I may say so myself, was fantastic. :) Haha...oh boy...anyways...I went to the interview.

It went really well, I think. There were 4 people in the interview: the principal, 2 assistant principals, and the athletic director. They were all really really nice and made me feel so comfortable. They had a scripted interview paper with 6 questions on it that they apparently ask to everyone. So they went around and each took 1 or 2 questions. I took my time and answered the best I could. Thankfully, I didn't say anything really dumb! Yessssss! :) They all seemed like they were agreeing with my answers and liking them. (hopefully...lol) I think it went well...but now I have to wait to hear back from them.

I hope they let me know as quick as possible (which I know they will do because the position is for January, which is fast approaching!), because if I get the job, I all of a sudden have to find a place to live down here and all that jazz. One step at a time thought, I guess. I was just so happy to actually have had a school contact me! What a surprise blessing! We'll see if I get the job and then we'll go from there.

In other news, I watched the movie "The Mist" tonight with Milton, Chad, A-mar, Dee, and Breth. It was pretty good. It was kind of supernatural and weird, but not as scary as I thought it would be. It was a little more gory than I normally prefer, but I dealt with it. I didn't like the ending, but how many horror films usually end happily, right?

Tomorrow, I am hopefully going to a US Women's National Soccer Team game in Tampa vs. South Korea. Should be pretty exciting if all the details work out! :)

Well, I guess that's all for now. I took like 2 naps today so I'm not as tired as I would normally be right now. Although, I think I'm getting there quickly! Haha! OLLLLLDDDD LAAAAAADY! Eh, anyways...good night!